Contest Rules and Guidelines

The annual literary awards were established to honor writers who self-published or had their books published by a subsidy publisher, small press, university press, or independent book publisher.


The Reader Views Literary Awards contest is open to all independent authors regardless of residency; however, books must be published in the English language. Works published by major book publishers are not eligible.

Books must have 2024 copyright date, except for entries in our Classics Division. Yes, this means the copyright date. No, it does not mean a copyright date of 2023 and publication date of 2024.  The copyright date is located on the copyright page of the printed book. If your book has a copyright date prior to 2024 it will automatically be submitted to the “Classics” division. 

Submission of more than one title by an author is acceptable.

Books NOT accepted:

  • RESUBMISSIONS: Books that have been entered into one of our previous events are not eligible UNLESS it is a “Revised Edition” with a different ISBN from the first edition.
  • RACIST/HATE DIVISIVE THEMES: Books that have racist themes will be not be accepted. We want to make it absolutely clear that we have a zero-tolerance policy towards books that promote racism or contain derogatory content targeting any specific group of people. Such books will not be accepted under any circumstances. We firmly believe in promoting diversity, inclusivity, and respect for all individuals. Our goal is to create a literary awards contest that celebrates excellence while upholding principles of equality and social justice. Our contest, our rules.

A Note about Regional and Global categories: All entries include the complimentary categories of Regional (for US authors) and Global (for all authors). Regional or Global entries may refer to the book’s topic or the author’s residency. For example, an author living in Alberta writing about a plot in Alabama may enter Canada-West as a regional author. It may also enter the Southeast category as a regional book. Alternatively, an author living in the UK writing about a plot in Texas may enter the Global EU category as well as the Regional South category.


All initial judging will be done by the Reader Views team of reviewers. They are experts in their fields as well as avid readers. Consider them your reading audience.

Criteria for judging is content, originality, presentation, design, innovation, social relevance, and production quality. Books will also be judged on the enjoyment and/or impact, the plot/storyline, and resourcefulness (depending on category.) This means you should send the final/best version of your book. It IS a contest after all so please do not send ARCs.

Finalists in each category will be determined by a points-system. Final judging will be determined by a panel of judges. In the first level of judging, a reviewer will write a review, which will be forwarded to the author or contact person stated on the submission form. The review will also be posted on the Reader Views or Reader Views Kids website.

We cannot guarantee the timing of when you will receive the review; however, we will attempt the best we can to review/judge your book in the order it is submitted. Keep in mind, the sooner you submit your book, the sooner you will get a review.

The review will be in a form of a PDF document and you may use it for your marketing purposes. If you have already received a review from us, you will not be receiving another review. Your book will automatically go into the second level of the judging process. Please do not wait until the deadline date to submit your book if your book is now in print. It is only fair to other authors, who publish late in the fall, to use this deadline date.


Note: If your book has a copyright date prior to 2024 it will automatically be submitted in the “Classics” category. The “Classics” division is ONLY open to copyright books prior to 2024 that have NOT participated in a previous awards program with Reader Views. This means that if you entered your title previously, you are not eligible for this category. Likewise, if your copyright is 2024, you are not eligible for this category either.

Entry Fee

$89.00 per title (for the initial category for submissions through October 31, 2024)
$99.00 per title (for the initial category for submissions after October 31, 2024)

$35.00 for each additional category.

Entry fee must be paid via Paypal. Submissions received without the entry fee will not be considered.  Entry fee is non-refundable.

Registration Deadline

Authors are encouraged to submit their entries as soon as possible; however, all entries must be submitted no later than December 15, 2024.

Hint: our judges read the book in its entirety – give them plenty of time to read the book. We will confirm your entry via e-mail so print your email address clearly.

For Entrants Submitting Physical Copies: Books must be postmarked by December 15, 2024.  This ensures we have all reading materials by the end of the year. Our reviewers read your books in their entirety. If we have to wait for receipt of physical copies it pushes back the awards announcement. Submissions postmarked after this date will not be accepted. IF YOUR BOOKS ARE NOT RECEIVED BY US BY December 31, 2024  you will be asked to submit an electronic copy. Reading materials not received by December 31, 2024 will result in the entry being withdrawn from the contest. Entry fees are non-refundable.